Skip to main content

About the Boley Law Library

About the Collection

Print materials found in the Boley Law Library include: federal, state, foreign and international primary materials and secondary sources.

The Library Commons contains the microform collection, indices, and reference materials. The materials in the Reading Room include treatises and periodicals, as well as federal, regional and state primary and secondary sources, International and British materials. Environmental treatises and periodicals are also found here. Each stack is numbered, and the stacks are divided by a large aisle. There is an “A” side and a “B” side to the stacks.

The law library maintains three closed-stack areas: the Reserve Collection, the Storage Collection and Off-site Storage. The Storage Collection houses older primary materials and superseded editions of treatises. The Off-site storage facility contains additional superseded editions of treatises and selected journals. Storage materials will be retrieved by Library Desk staff upon request. Off-site Storage materials will be retrieved within 24 hours of request, except on weekends.

Primary Materials

Federal and Regional Materials

Selected federal and regional reporters, codes and digests are located on the south stacks (“B” stacks). Included in this section (generally from front to back in the stacks) are the following:

  • Congressional Record (current issues only, earlier issues online)
  • U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN) (not updated after 2014)
  • U.S.Code and U.S.C.A.
  • Federal Register (current issues only, earlier issues online)
  • Code of Federal Regulations (current year only)
  • U.S. Supreme Court decisions and digests
  • Lower federal court decisions and digests (not updated after 2014)
  • Federal Rules Decisions (not updated after 2014)

State Materials

State statutes and other state materials are located on the south stacks (“B” stacks) following the federal and regional materials and are arranged alphabetically by state. Additional state materials are shelved with the treatises and can be located through the Primo catalog. Oregon, Washington, California, Alaska and Hawaii statutes are kept updated and current. The remaining state statutes are not updated after 2014 but can be accessed through various online databases and web sites.

United Kingdom and Other Foreign Jurisdictions

Selected statutory materials, reports, and digests for the United Kingdom are located in the Foreign section in the rear of the Library on the “B” side. Some Commonwealth and English language statutes and reporters are housed in the Storage Collection. Please consult Primo or reference librarians for further information. The Library also holds the Civil Codes of several foreign countries. These codes are found in the treatise area of the stacks and can be located using the Primo catalog.

Secondary Materials

Treatises (Print)

The law library’s treatise holdings can be identified through Primo, the library’s online catalog. The treatises are shelved in Library of Congress call number order. Material with the location of “Storage” or “Off-site Storage” or “Reserve” indicates that the title is housed in closed stack areas. Library staff will retrieve any materials requested from those areas.

The Library of Congress classification scheme catalogs Law in the K schedule. American Law is KF. An outline of the K and KF schedules is attached to the stack end panels in the treatise collection. A helpful way of locating treatises is to determine the general Library of Congress classification number and browse the stacks in and around that number.

E-books can be located by searching Primo or through other databases. For assistance with finding e-books please ask at the Library Desk.

Periodicals (Law Reviews and Journals)

Current subscriptions to most legal journals are available online. Search Primo by journal title to find the link to the online version of the journal. Older issues of journals and some print-only journals can still be found in hardcopy in the stacks and are shelved alphabetically by title. Older issues of some state bar journals and legal newspapers are available only in microform and are housed in the microform cabinets located in the Library Commons.

For help finding a journal article or in using a particular index or database, ask at the Library Desk.

 

10015 SW Terwilliger Blvd., Portland, OR 97219 | 503-768-6676 | lawlib@lclark.edu